“LEGAL-NESS” OF MARIJUANA UNDER ALASKA STATE LAW

BEFORE BM2

AFTER BM2

ACTIVITY

Public Consumption

1
Illegal

- Penalty: B Misdemeanor

2
lllegal

- Penalty: Noncriminal
violation; Max $100 fine

DUI-Marijuana lllegal® Illegal (no change)
Simple Possession —Marijuana (Non-Plant)
Up to 1 ounce lllegal® Legal’

- Penalty: B Misdemeanor

*Adults over 18 may possess

up to four ounces of

marijuana in the privacy of the
home for personal use under

Ravin v. State

**The Alaska Medical
Marijuana Law permits

possession of up to one ounce
of marijuana for registered

users.

-Adults over 21 only

*The provisions of Ravin v.
State and the Alaska Medical
Marijuana Law remain in

effect.

' AS 11.71.060(a)(1)
2 AS 17.38.040

* AS 28.35.030

* AS 11.71.060(a)(2)
> AS 17.38.020(a)
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More than 1 ounce

IIIegaI6
- Penalty: A Misdemeanor

*Adults over 18 may possess
up to four ounces of
marijuana in the privacy of the
home for personal use under
Ravin v. State.

Illegal 7
- Penalty: A Misdemeanor

*Adults over 21 may possess all
of the marijuana produced by
lawfully-possessed marijuana
plants on the premises where
the plants were grown.

**Adults over 18 may possess
up to four ounces of marijuana
in the privacy of the home for
personal use under Ravin v.
State.

More than 4 ounces

8
Illegal

- Penalty: C Felony

lllegal
- Penalty: C Felony

*Adults over 21 may possess all
of the marijuana produced by
lawfully-possessed marijuana
plants on the premises where
the plants were grown.

Simple Possession — Marijuana Plants

Up to six plants

Illegal

*The Alaska Medical
Marijuana Law permits
registered users to possess up
to six marijuana plants (three
of which may be flowering).

**Adults over 18 may possess
up to four ounces of
marijuana (whether in plant or
other form) in the privacy of
the home for personal use
under Ravin v. State.

Legal

-Only three plants may be
flowering at any time

-The provisions of Ravin v. State
and the Alaska Medical
Marijuana Law remain in

effect.

25 or more plants

9
Illegal

- Penalty: C Felony

Illegal (no change)

- Penalty: C Felon

® AS 11.71.050(a)(2)(E)
7 AS 11.71.050(a)(2)(E)
¥ AS 11.71.040(a)(3)(F)
° AS 11.71.040(a)(3)(G),(d)
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Manufacture, Delivery, Possession with

Intent to Manufacture or Deliver

[Excluding marijuana establishments

licensed under AS 17.38]

Up to 1 ounce

10
Illegal

-Penalty: A misdemeanor

Illegal
- Penalty: A misdemeanor

*Adults over 21 may transfer
up to 1 ounce of marijuana
(and up to six plants) to
another person over 21 without
remuneration. AS 17.38.020(c)

More than 1 ounce

11
Illegal

- Penalty: C Felony

Illegal (no change)

Personal Home Grow

Legal*

*Adults over 18 may possess
up to four ounces of
marijuana (whether in plant or
other form) in the privacy of
the home for personal use
under Ravin v. State.
Possession of more than 25
plants is a felony, regardless
of weight.

Legal*

*BM2 and the Alaska Medical
Marijuana Law permit
possession of up to six
marijuana plants (three of
which may be flowering)

*Failure to comply with the
statutory requirements for
personal grow operations is
punishable by a fine of up to
$750.%

Non-Personal Grow

Illegal

Illegal

19 A5 11.71.050(a)
" AS 11.71.040(a)
12 AS 17.38.030(b)

1)

(
(2)
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