

Office of the City Clerk

491 East Pioneer Avenue Homer, Alaska 99603

clerk@cityofhomer-ak.gov (p) 907-235-3130 (f) 907-235-3143

Memorandum 22-145

TO: MAYOR CASTNER AND HOMER CITY COUNCIL

FROM: RACHEL TUSSEY, CMC, DEPUTY CITY CLERK II

THRU: MELISSA JACOBSEN, MMC, CITY CLERK

DATE: SEPTEMBER 12, 2022

SUBJECT: CONFIRMATION OF ELECTION JUDGES FOR THE CITY OF HOMER REGULAR

ELECTION OCTOBER 4, 2022

Pursuant to Homer City Code Sections 4.20.010 and 4.35.010, the Election Judges are approved by City Council and the Canvass Board is confirmed by the City Council.

Homer absentee voting and Precincts No. 1, and No. 2 are assigned the following Election Judges:

Homer AVO	Homer No. 1	Homer No. 2	Canvass Board
Vickie Berney	Suzanne Erikson, Chair	Kira Stuart, Chair	Karen Newell
Pamela Brodie	Carlton Erikson	Cynthia Barker	Louise Hall
Suzanne Erikson	Dan Layland	Joan Smith	
Louise Hall	Karen Newell	Kent Smith	
Therese Lewandowski	Greg Newell	Alexander Stuart	
Karen Newell	Stephanie Silianoff	Lora Wilke	
Colleen Powers			

Recommendation

Confirm the appointment of the Canvass Board and approve the appointment of the Election Judges for the October 4, 2022 City of Homer Regular Election.

Fiscal Note: Per the Memorandum of Agreement with the Kenai Peninsula Borough approved by Resolution 21-049, wages for election judge's recruitment, training, and administration are split equally between the Borough and the City. Wages are based on the current hourly rate as set by the Division of Elections. The Kenai Peninsula Borough pays the election judges and then bills the City of Homer for their portion.

The City is responsible to hire and compensate their Election Canvass Board members. Part-time wages are \$25/hour, 2-4 hours or until done.

Account: 100-0102-5103 thru -5107